WTF Wednesday #1: Chamber of Horrors

WCWChamberofHorrors

Hello ladies and gentlemen, I am your host, the Baumeister.  As a dedicated wrestling fan, you’ve watched through both the good and the bad.  But, there are just some things that are so bad that you have to go “WTF?” Each week, we’ll cover a match, person or storyline that will confuse you and give you a headache as you ask yourself, “WTF did I just watch?”

This week’s topic: WCW Chamber of Horrors Match

What is there to say about this match that hasn’t been said already by countless other reviewers?  But, I’m going to say them anyway.  The overall pacing of this match is very clunky, especially after the “Chair of Torture” is lowered into the ring (everyone stops and stares at it as it descends and it takes a minute for everyone to get back to fighting). I’m glad that the “Refer-Eye” camera never really caught on, because I know that I would have gotten a little seasick just watching that point of view.

I do want to touch on one point here, and that’s the switch.  First of all, it’s way too high up to be really any sort of use here.  You have to climb up to just to turn the darn thing on.  Secondly, it wouldn’t stay up.  Towards the end of the match, you can clearly see one of the referees going up and making sure the switch is in the “Off” position on multiple occasions.  I really didn’t like the fact that the ending was based on the switch.  I could only assume that the team of the Steiners, Sting and El Gigante were supposed to win the match, but the finish seemed like it took way too long to do.

Are you scratching your head like I am? Do you have a WTF moment that you’d like to see featured here? Let me know in the comments.  Until next time, I am the Baumeister.

Leave a Reply

