WTFebruary Theme Thursday #10: Kaiju Big Battel

download

Hello ladies and gentlemen, I am your host, the Baumeister. It’s Theme Thursday, where I take one a particular theme of my choosing and present it to you.  It could be based off a promotion, or a match type, or a gimmick group.  There’ll be my thoughts on the theme, as well as video clips that I’ve enjoyed.

This is part of WTFebruary, a month in which the focus is solely on the strange, bizarre, and just plain bad of professional wrestling.

This week’s theme: Kaiju Big Battel

Some of you may have heard about this promotion…and some of may not have.  And that’s ok.  It’s kind of obscure.  Kaiju Big Battel is a promotion where pretty much every performer that competes in that ring (not all though) are monsters.  The ring is made up like a miniature city, to replicate the appearance that the performers are giant monsters fighting downtown.

I can’t remember when I first heard about Kaiju Big Battel, but once I learned where this promotion came from, I was intrigued.  Now, as many of you are aware, I am a big CHIKARA fan. And there for a little while, CHIKAR and Kaiji had a partnership.   That’s where we got the lights of Dr. Cube and American Beetle in a CHIKARA ring.  In fact, CHIKARA still uses Dr. Cube to this day when the opportunity arises (The Eye of Tyr, and a part of the Flood until he was un-cubed). Below are going to be some matches from Kaiju Big Battel.  Enjoy.

So, what did you think of this week’s theme? Have any themes you’d like to see featured here? Let me know in the comments.  Until next time, I am the Baumeister.

Leave a Reply

