Deadpool…Could Scar You.

Hello everyone! Now, I know, I’m a wrestling blog.  But, I figure, since wrestling is a form of entertainment, that I branch out.  And what better than to step out and review some non-wrestling things.  Just some of my thoughts about…

deadpool

If you HAVEN’T seen this movie…turn back now.  Thar be spoilers ahead…

spoiler_alert_300_w2

Let’s start with the INCREDIBLY OBVIOUS…this movie isn’t for children.  Heck, it’s probably not for anyone under the age of 21. It’s that vulgar.  But, that’s what we’ve come to expect from Deadpool. Deadpool is a fourth-wall breaking merc with a mouth.  And it certainly came across here.  Now, I’m not an expert on cinematography. But, I do appreciate things for what they are.  Yes, there are some bad films out there.  But, Deadpool is not one of those films.

I liked the jumping around in the timelines.  It added a little something on the screen that I usually only find in books.  And it did well to tell the story of Wade Wilson.  How he became the crater faced man that has incredible regenerative ability.  Which is another thing that the movie showed off well.  Not just the fact that Wilson could fill in holes after getting shot through and through.  The fact that he regenerated his entire hand after cutting it off himself really drives home his regenerative powers.  Though, how long did it take him to get his hand fully formed again?

The film has a great pace, especially at the end with the battle at the airship.  I wish they would have done a little more with Negasonic Teenage Warhead.  Maybe let her have a crack at Deadpool on the bridge instead of letting Colossus be the one to handle him.  Yes, I know she’s an apprentice.  But, she should have just used that teenage angst and whopped him a good one.

As for our villains and sidekicks, I felt that we got more of just Francis…Ajax…Francis than we did anyone else.  I kinda wanted to more about Angel Dust.  Like why she was still behind Francis…Ajax…Francis.  Meanwhile, Weasel and Blind Al were just there to help Deadpool advance the story along. Like they don’t really have their own moments. Then there’s Vanessa.  I love that she’s woven into the story throughout, even when Deadpool hadn’t seen her in over a year, he’s still holding on to her.  It’s sweet, and I’m glad that they didn’t kill her off like I was expecting.

There has been a sequel announced, and I kinda want to see a different side of Deadpool.  But, it’s still WAY too early to speculate what will happen in the second movie.  But, if it’s going to be anything like this one, I’m going to be looking forward to it.

In the end, I would recommend Deadpool to anyone who doesn’t get easily offended.  Be like Deadpool.  Staring down the loaded gun that is cancer, he still was able to make wisecracking jokes.  We should all take that mentality and apply that to our lives.  Life is much too short to take seriously.  But, keep it appropriate to your audience.

That’s all I’ve got for you folks.  Stick around, and there’ll be some more reviews in the future.  Until next time, I am The Baumeister, and I have been obediently yours.

Leave a Reply

