Layers of Fear: Quite a Mindtrip

LayersofFear

Hello everyone! Welcome back to another exciting venture into a non-wrestling topic.  This time, we’re looking at video games.  When I’m not watching wrestling, or working 40 hours at my job, I’m usually in to video games.  Now, ever since I saw UpUpDwnDwn play the early release version of this game, I just knew that I had to play it.  I’m big into horror, so a first person no-combat horror game seems right up my alley.

And I must say, I’m not disappointed.  So, for those of you who don’t know, Layers of Fear involves a painter. This painter…is messed up.  Trying not to get too spoiler heavy for you, but the story behind all of the creepy visuals is pretty dark.  And speaking of the creepy visuals, it’s pretty intense.  You’re never really in the same room twice, even when you are standing in the room.  I mean, the room structure might be the same, but an event will happen, and the inside will completely change.  And yes, there are some jump scares.  Some pretty good ones too.  There’s one recurring one that will get you at first, but then just becomes an “eh” moment.  I do have to say that the constant changing paths is an interesting dynamic that I would love to see more games get into.

I did get myself stuck a couple of times throughout my playthrough.  Once while in the nursery, and once in a later chapter where I couldn’t figure out how I was supposed to escape the room (with the solution right in front of my face).  It’s a game that forces you to use your puzzle solving skills and maybe, just maybe, even a little creative thinking as well.

Then, just a few weeks ago, I find that they have released a DLC for the game.  Called Inheritance, the game follows the painter’s daughter as she returns to her father’s house.  We get much more of what is happening outside of the mind of the painter through flashbacks from the daughter.  Some of these flashbacks are short and straight to the point, others are longer and make the player work much harder for a solution.  But, it’s a nice little add-on, and there seems to be some replay value to not only this, but the original game as well.

I would recommend this game to anyone who enjoys games that mess with your mind and can give you a good scare.  I know that I’m going to replay this game again soon because there’s so many different choices I could have made that definitely would have made my playthrough of the game different.

That’s all I’ve got for you folks.  Hope you enjoyed my review of this game.  Until next time, I am the Baumeister, and I have been, as always, obediently yours.

Leave a Reply

