Review: Sherlock Holmes: Crimes and Punishments

Hello everyone! And welcome to another one of my video game reviews.  Now, since I moved home, I’ve been picking at video games here and there, in the midst of getting myself back up and running.  And thanks to my Pa, I have some games at my disposal that I’ve actually wanted to play, but never wanted to buy myself.  And one such game…

Now, I’m an avid lover of Sherlock Holmes.  I’ve been reading Sir Arthur Conan Doyle’s stories of the deductive detective since I was in late elementary school.  So, playing at Sherlock Holmes is a dream come true. And this game. Man, let me tell you, I’ve enjoyed this game.  The game makes you think.

think winnie the pooh pooh

Sure, the puzzles are simplistic, and the game does like to hold your hand from time to time.  But, sometimes, the hand-holding is needed.  And the game is VERY forgiving.  For example, if you fail one of the conversations, it takes you right back to the beginning of the section to start over again.  And if you mess up on a puzzle, you can just re-do the puzzle over again.

But my goodness, the choices.  For all the hand-holding the game does in terms of the actual gameplay, it’s the way you play the game that makes it all worthwhile.  For example, I found that you could choose from SIX different options to finish the first case alone.  The game, at this point, drops your hand and kicks your butt to the curb.  Sure, it lets you change your mind up until the very end, but, unless you use the “check solution” feature, or are familiar with the stories that these cases are based on, the game won’t tell you if you chose right or wrong.  Which is great.  I love that the game makes you second guess yourself, just like life makes you second guess yourself sometimes.  There is a lot of repetition when it comes to the same sorts of puzzles (but, what game doesn’t have repetition?).  Of course, while there is some repetition, there are also some moments when they introduce new gameplay mechanics, that, while it may only be good for that particular case, is still a welcome change when they are introduced.

All in all, I can see this game getting more replay value for those who want to watch all of the conclusions play out. If you are into puzzles, exploration, and the occasional quick-time event, this is for you.  Even if it isn’t, I hope that you’ll give it a chance.  Until next time, I am the Baumeister, and I have been obediently yours.

One comment on “Review: Sherlock Holmes: Crimes and Punishments

  1. Nice! I’ve been looking for a good puzzle game outside of Professor Layton and Ace Attorney. I’ll probably pick this one up– Thanks for the review!

    I’m actually the Community Content Manager for NowLoading.co, and I would be thrilled if you considered posting on our platform (while still posting on your personal channels). If you don’t know much about us- we’re the same team behind Movie Pilot, and push to give awesome writers (like yourself) some exposure. Feel free to email me! My email and more info is on my about page. 🙂

Leave a Reply

