So, You Think You Know Diabetes? #1

Hello everyone! And welcome to a new idea that I thought of as I was moving across the state yesterday (my trip took six hours through two states, in case anyone was wondering).  As most of you know, I was with a wonderful woman for the last seven years of my life, and every day I spent with her was quite the learning process.  You’re probably asking why, and my answer to you is that she is a type 1 diabetic. Everyday is different, with different problems arising as problems do.  So, I’m going to impart what knowledge I have about this lifelong disease to you.

Picture

Well, we’re going to start right off with a great concept…what exactly is diabetes?  Well, diabetes is a auto-immune disorder in which the body has an extreme dislike for the pancreas.  The pancreas is an organ that regulates hormones that regulates the body’s control of glucose in the body.  In Type 1 Diabetes, the pancreas either cannot perform it’s functions at all, or performs them at a severely limited function thanks to the body’s anti-infection reaction to certain cells in the pancreas.  Therefore, it becomes necessary for a diabetic to use insulin to help control blood sugars.

type1diabetes

Diabetes is not a disease to be taken lightly.  There can be numerous complications on both ends on the spectrum that can be potentially fatal, but I’ll cover those in a later post.  For those of us who are lucky to have a working pancreas, we don’t understand the struggle that diabetics go through on a day to day basis with skyrocketing or plummeting blood sugars.  However, we can be sympathetic and supportive as they battle with this disease day after day.

Image result for type 1 diabetes supporter

That’s all I’ve got for this round. I don’t want to reveal my hand just yet as to what other topics I’m going to cover here.  But, I will definitely add in more personal anecdotes as an outsider looking in as we get into certain topics.  But, until next time, I am the Baumeister, and I have been obediently yours.

Leave a Reply

