Commentaries #3

Hello everyone, and welcome back to another edition of Commentaries! Is everyone excited? Because I’m sure not.

Now, as I’m sure a lot of you can be at least sympathetic with, I’m broke.  Like, in the hole broke.  And most of that is my fault.  I will be 100% truthful and admit that I’m not very good with money; I haven’t looked hard for a job since I got divorced, and I have a good amount of debt.  And again, that’s all my fault.  But, what isn’t my fault is jobs that require you to take an aptitude test…a version of an interview before you even get considered for interviews.  I mean, I understand that you don’t want a psychopath or sociopath working for you, dealing with the public.  I wouldn’t want to have someone wait on me and try to decide if they want a red wine or white wine with my pancreas.  But, you can lie on those things, just like you can lie during your interviews.  Believe me there.  I’ve seen some of the people that my managers have really liked in the interview process, but once they got on the floor and settled a few weeks later, that’s where they really came out.

Look, all I’m saying, is not to give potential applicants this absurd test that is meant to confuse them and weed out the ones who aren’t “customer service” material.  I fail those things all the time, and look where that’s got me.  Yeah, that’s right.  In plenty of customer services jobs.  Take that system.  Take that.

Well, that’s all I’ve got for you today.  Sorry if this feels more like a rant than a commentary, and you know what, that’s ok.  This space is more a less a place where I can talk about anything I want to, within reason of course.  Otherwise, thank you for stopping by.  It’s greatly appreciated.  And until next time, I am the Baumeister, and I have been, obediently yours.

Leave a Reply

