So, You Think You Know Diabetes #8

Hello everyone, and welcome back to another edition of “So, You Think You Know Diabetes”.  Now, I was originally going to talk about diabetic foot here, but there’s only so many pictures of foot ulcers that I can stare at before I start to feel uneasy.  So, I decided to drop the topic.  And that’s fine.  Now, I’ve been doing this for a couple of months, and even though it’s probably understood, I must say that I am not a replacement for a medical professional.  Now, if you have some of these signs and symptoms of some of the topics brought up in this segment, please go see a medical professional.  But, now on to today’s topic:

Image result for diabetes distress

We’re going to talk about the toll that diabetes takes on a person mentally.  Let’s face it.  Diabetes is a stressful disease, when properly controlled.  Constant blood sugar checks, knowing how much insulin to do for each meal by counting carbs, constant checks for any long-term complications; it’s enough to drive a person mad.  And, I’m pretty sure that most diabetics are. But, they are a strong breed of people. But, even they can suffer from mental health issues like depression and anxiety.

Those that suffer from diabetic distress may show it in the form of depression.  This depression is more focused on the fact that they have a lifelong disease, but they are tired of fighting it.  Or they may be tired of hearing the social stigma about diabetes, or they may worry about their future living with diabetes.  They may feel like they are a burden on those around them.  Now, besides getting treatment from a licensed medical professional, I have to say that if you are suffering from diabetic distress, one needs to take a step back and analyze what is going on.  Is something in the way that the plan has changed in a big way? Like taking everything that one has known, and turned on its head? Make the changes small.  If that’s not the case, talk with people, especially those who have an idea of what one is going through.

Now, looking back at my time with Beth, there have probably been at least one time where I can say that I suffered from diabetic distress.  Yes, me, a non-diabetic, was suffering from diabetic distress.  It’s probably not called diabetic distress. But, those of us who are either caring for, cared for, or in constant support of a diabetic (whether it’s a child or other family member), this disease takes a toll on us as well.  Yes, we have absolutely no idea exactly what you, the diabetic, are going through, but, at least are going to try to make sure that you are going to live.  Because we love you and don’t want to see you suffer from the many symptoms and side-effects of diabetes.

For those of you who may be struggling with diabetic distress in one way or another, reach out.  Get some help and support.  Use your loved ones.  Heck, use me.  As I said, I may not know what you are going through personally, but, after helping Beth manage her diabetes for seven years, I might know a thing or two.

That’s all I’ve got for you today folks.  Next week should be a livelier topic.  Until next time, I am the Baumeister, and I have been, obediently yours.

Leave a Reply

