So, You Think You Know Diabetes #11

Hello everyone, and welcome back to another edition of “So, You Think You Know Diabetes”.  Well, we’re moving closer and closer to the end of the tunnel with this series.  Now, there are probably SO many topics left to cover, but, as a non-diabetic, I can only cover so many topics.  I couldn’t tell you the exact struggles a diabetic can go through EVERY day, or the fears of not being able to pay for their medical supplies.  Maybe one of these days I can talk a diabetic to doing a write-up on that point of view for me.  But, that’s for another day…possibly.  Anyway, that’s not what I want to talk about.  Instead, I want to talk about something that does hit much closer to home.  I’m being very literal with this one…

Image result for type 2 diabetes

My father is a Type 2, and he’s a very baaaaaaad one.  Granted, what I know of diabetic care and management, came from watching Beth.  And since I currently live at home with my parents, I might as well cover what I have come to understand about the more…widespread of the two major types of diabetes.

So, as we all know from an earlier post, Type 1 is when the pancreas cannot produce enough, or any, insulin to sustain the body. Well, with Type 2, the pancreas still functions, but at a reduced rate.  Now, that rate varies from person to person, and that’s where it gets complicated.  See, there are different “classifications” of Type 2 Diabetics.  There are those who only have to watch what they eat, and do occasional blood sugar checks.  Then, there are those like my father, who are put on insulin in order to help regulate their high blood sugar, along with meal control and exercise.  My father…isn’t one of those.  At least, from what I can see.  While he is getting better at it, he’s not checking his sugars nearly as often as he should be, and subsequently, can get to be a little high sometimes.

As for the cause of Type 2? That’s subject to debate.  An unhealthy lifestyle, according to WHO, is the primary cause of Type 2 diabetes.  But, there are other factors to think of, such as genetic anomalies that can lead to the development of Type 2.  If you want to learn more about what WHO thinks, click on the link, go down to the references, and click on #3.  If you can get past all of the medical jargon, you should do just fine.

Now, I’m not going to say too much more on this topic, because Type 2 is a pretty serious disease, and I’ve covered a lot of what can affect both Type 1 and Type 2 diabetics throughout the previous installments.  However, the next couple of weeks are going to sound a little bitter.  You’ll see why soon enough.  Until next time, I am the Baumeister, and I have been, obediently yours.

Leave a Reply

