Oooh, I Want to Read This #12

Hello everyone, and welcome back once again to “Oooh, I Want to Read This”.  It’s the 12th edition, and I don’t see this stopping any time soon.  Why? ‘Cause I like to share about my want to read, and even what I own.  Except for today’s blog.  I lost my list.  I don’t know where it went.  I was planned up until the end of December, but then life and work has happened, and I’ve fallen behind.  So, here’s some recent additions to my TBR list to tide you over for now.

Remember, synopsis and book covers are taken from Goodreads.

31549513

“Her vengeance. His vision.”

Ari lost everything she once loved when the Five Guilds’ resistance fell to the Dragon King. Now, she uses her unparalleled gift for clockwork machinery in tandem with notoriously unscrupulous morals to contribute to a thriving underground organ market. There isn’t a place on Loom that is secure from the engineer turned thief, and her magical talents are sold to the highest bidder as long as the job defies their Dragon oppressors.

Cvareh would do anything to see his sister usurp the Dragon King and sit on the throne. His family’s house has endured the shame of being the lowest rung in the Dragons’ society for far too long. The Alchemist Guild, down on Loom, may just hold the key to putting his kin in power, if Cvareh can get to them before the Dragon King’s assassins.

When Ari stumbles upon a wounded Cvareh, she sees an opportunity to slaughter an enemy and make a profit off his corpse. But the Dragon sees an opportunity to navigate Loom with the best person to get him where he wants to go.

He offers her the one thing Ari can’t refuse: A wish of her greatest desire, if she brings him to the Alchemists of Loom.

Yes, I know that this book hasn’t come out yet.  But, from what I’ve read, and seen reviews for, this looks to be a pretty good book.  And I could totally use some steampunk in my world.  It’s been a genre that I’ve been interested in, but never fully gotten immersed.

31135723

Friendship doesn’t die, it waits…

A haunting and lyrical novel, Dark Water is a psychologically intense portrait of adolescent yearning and obsession.

When Helena returns to her childhood home in Orkney, she is forced to face memories that she has spent half a lifetime running from. Her best friend, the charismatic Anastasia, disappeared after a swimming incident. But what really happened that night by the wrecks?

This sounds really, really interesting.  Gloomy, with some sides of mystery and thrills along the way.  Sign me up.  I love a good mystery.

26024978

You’ve never, ever read a book like this.

When a sexually-transmitted plague breaks out in Ashley Young’s small town, leaving its victims with a bizarrely amplified libido, everything about her life changes. DEAD IN BED is partly a suspense thriller with a strikingly original story, partly a page-turning mystery about a disease that makes people hopelessly crave sexual contact, and partly a neo-western adventure in the American heartland. For anyone who can handle a smart, controversial female protagonist who’s willing to do anything—no matter how difficult or morally questionable—in order to survive, the series pulls readers in like an unshakeable addiction.

. . . Bailey Simms, teen author of DEAD IN BED, is stuck at home with a rare medical condition. Writing is her only escape, so she’s determined to keep her salacious series hidden from her strict father. Soon an older boy starts secretly helping her, and Bailey finds new opportunities for freedom she’s never had. But as DEAD IN BED grows in popularity, and Bailey’s fans start to clamor for the sequel, she learns that being a successful author may come with a terrifyingly dangerous price.

A very, very unique premise for a book.  Seriously, though.  Sounds awfully like an interesting take on the whole “apocalyptic plague” trope we’ve been seeing for a year.  Definitely something to keep close to the top of my reading list.

Well, that’s all I’ve got for you today folks.  Hopefully, I can find my notebook so I can have next week’s originally planned reads.  Otherwise, I may do a “best of” list for next time.  Speaking of, until then, I am the Baumeister, and I have been, obediently yours.

Leave a Reply

