Reviewing the Pages: Carrie

10622

Carrie knew she should not use the terrifying power she possessed… But one night at her senior prom, Carrie was scorned and humiliated just one time too many, and in a fit of uncontrollable fury she turned her clandestine game into a weapon of horror and destruction…

It has been quite a while since I last read Stephen King’s first novel, and, coming to re-read it, I can see why I had fallen in love with King’s early work. Especially this novel. In between the events of the “Black Prom” as it happened, the post-Prom analysis between news reports, official White Commission reports, and books written on the night in question. While the main story does get jolted by these constant jerks in its flow, it certainly doesn’t get derailed because the other half fits it seamlessly. I do love that the main story, the night of the “Black Prom”, comes to a close as it had started.

spoiler_alert_300_w2

Can I even call this section a spoiler, considering the book is about 40 years old at this point.  Well, I suppose there are people who HAVEN’T read this book yet, and want to go into it blind.

Anyway, I do love how King does go full circle with the beginning of the story.  Though, here’s something that I haven’t really grasped.  And that’s the character of Sue Snell.  Sure, I can see that she’s got remorse for her actions at the beginning of the book, but, at the same time, I feel like she’s pretty conflicted about what she wants.  At what her motivation is.  Part of me thinks that she wants to atone for what she has done, and the other half…wants to make it look like she’s remorseful for her actions in the shower.  I don’t know why Sue, of all people, had the strongest connection to Carrie during her incredible psychic outburst.

Otherwise, I think this is a great story, and that we all should give thanks to Mrs. King, for if she didn’t pull the discarded manuscript out of the trash, we would have never gotten this story, or even possibly, any of King’s work.

Leave a Reply

