Commentaries #14

Hello everyone, and welcome back once again to another edition of Commentaries.

Now I was going to do a rant about the weather, and how it makes my job at the truck stop I work at a bit difficult.  But then I realize, as my car is beached on top of a snow pile, that living in Wyoming is not necessarily such a bad thing.  In fact, I do love living in Wyoming.  While there are a lot of things I miss out on, like big events because Wyoming is so far away from ANYTHING (even Denver is a two hour drive away).  But, the wide open spaces are well worth the isolation.  That’s why they invented traveling.

I love to travel.  I’ve traveled ever since I was in school, mainly on school functions, but I traveled.  In high school alone, I had gone to Denver, Kansas City, and Washington, D.C., plus Wyoming cities like Casper and Laramie.  And it’s not like I had made my trips easy either.  For example, my sophomore year of high school, I attended a seminar in Casper at the end of April.  Not even a week later after I get back from that trip, I board a charter bus with the rest of the band/choir, and we take a trip down to Kansas City for a competition.  We didn’t do so well, but, what can you do?

My senior year, I took back to back trips to Denver.  Went from doing a two day trip for Cinco De Mayo downtown, to spending a few days in the south part of Denver doing things for “Physics in the Park” at Elitch Gardens.  That was a long, but very fun week of traveling and learning, even if we didn’t do a lot of physics while at Elitches.

After high school. I’ve done a bit more extensive traveling, from staying with my aunt and uncle in the Chicago area for a summer (which included a trip to Michigan for my cousin’s wedding, and a trip down to Georgia/Florida to visit my uncle’s mom); school trips to San Francisco and Brussels, Belgium; a Spring Break trip to Spokane, among others.  But since I’ve left college, I really haven’t done too much extensive traveling.  And that’s a shame.  Maybe one of these days, once I get more in control of things, I’ll take off for somewhere. One of my goals after winter lets up is to go to Mount Rushmore.  I live a two hour drive west of those huge stone faces, and I’ve never, ever been.  My family and I came close when I was younger, but considering I was only like 8 (and I’m the oldest), I don’t think my parents could have dealt with three screaming youngsters at a national monument.  Nor would I have appreciated it.  So, I think that’s going to be my travel goal.

Well, that’s about it.  There’s an insight into a little bit about me.  Enlightened? Until my next rant, I am the Baumeister, and I have been, obediently yours.

Leave a Reply

