Oooh, I Want to Read This #18

Hello everyone, and welcome back to “Oooh, I Want to Read This”! Going to keep this short and sweet, because we’ve got a few to dive into today, and I’m actually writing this right before this is supposed to go up.  Whoops! Anyway, on with the post!

666256

Atlantis lies between Europe and the East Coast of Terranova. For many years, this land of opportunity lured dreamers from around the globe with its natural resources, offering a new beginning for those willing to brave the wonders of the unexplored land.

The man who got me into alternative history with his series on the South winning the Civil War, dives into questioning about if Atlantis really existed, and what role would it play out in the world.

2905378

‘It’s America in 1962. Slavery is legal once again. The few Jews who still survive hide under assumed names. In San Francisco, the I Ching is as common as the Yellow Pages. All because some twenty years earlier the United States lost a war—and is now occupied by Nazi Germany and Japan. This harrowing, Hugo Award-winning novel is the work that established Philip K. Dick as an innovator in science fiction while breaking the barrier between science fiction and the serious novel of ideas. In it Dick offers a haunting vision of history as a nightmare from which it may just be possible to wake.

Seems that I want to be in alternative history fiction today. The Man in the High Castle, which now has a TV series, is very intriguing, and I really want to dive right on in the pages.

5

Harry Potter is lucky to reach the age of thirteen, since he has already survived the murderous attacks of the feared Dark Lord on more than one occasion. But his hopes for a quiet term concentrating on Quidditch are dashed when a maniacal mass-murderer escapes from Azkaban, pursued by the soul-sucking Dementors who guard the prison. It’s assumed that Hogwarts is the safest place for Harry to be. But is it a coincidence that he can feel eyes watching him in the dark, and should he be taking Professor Trelawney’s ghoulish predictions seriously?

Well, if you checked out my reading list that I posted the other day, you’ll know that this book is at the top of the list.  And, I’ll be diving into it really soon, for I’m almost done (at the time of this posting, I have about 55 pages left in The Eye of the World).

That’s all I’ve got for you folks.  Tune in next time for more books! Until then, I am the Baumeister, and I have been, obediently yours.

Leave a Reply

