Reviewing the Pages: Catacomb

23871125

Sometimes the past is better off buried.

Senior year is finally over. After all they’ve been through, Dan, Abby, and Jordan are excited to take one last road trip together, and they’re just not going to think about what will happen when the summer ends. But on their way to visit Jordan’s uncle in New Orleans, the three friends notice that a black muscle car appears to be following them. And Dan starts receiving phone messages from someone he didn’t expect to hear from again—someone who died last Halloween.

As the strange occurrences escalate, Dan is forced to accept that everything that has happened to him in the past year may not be a coincidence, but fate—a fate that ties Dan to a group called the Bone Artists, who have a sinister fascination with notorious killers of the past. Now, Dan’s only hope is that he will make it out of his senior trip alive.

In this third book in the New York Times bestselling Asylum series, found photographs help tell the story of three teens who exist on the line between past and present, genius and insanity.

Well, this is the last book in the series, and while I did enjoy the read, I felt like it was lacking as a “final” book. The ending seemed too…open? Like Roux could have fleshed out the ending some more. And the characters. I would have figured by now that we would have gotten some solid bonds between the three of them, but it was more of the same story with our trio. And that kinda bugged me. They had gone through so much, and yet, there’s still all this tension between the three of them.

As far as the big bad is concerned, it seems a little…out of left field. They don’t make much of an appearance throughout the first part of the book, and what presence they do have towards the end is limited to one person. Now, I’m not sure if just because it’s one person, but I feel it was a group, and it was just a guy and his assistants.

Overall, I was just not that impressed with this read. However, if you did like the first two books, then you should make it a point to read this book to finish out the story.

spoiler_alert_300_w2

Alright.  This book gave me moderate levels of infuriation at times.  And it’s not just with one specific thing either.  When it wasn’t the slight random development the plot was making, it was with the relationship between Dan and Jordan, with a bit of Abby mixed in-between.  If wasn’t between their relationship, then it was with Dan himself.  Yes, he did make some growth by making the decision to open up, but this was at the very end of the novel, after the bad guy had been defeated.  While it wasn’t The Girl on the Train levels of frustration, it still just…rather annoyed me.

And speaking of the bad guy.  Besides being this ominous threat that lingers over the travels of the trio, there’s really…nothing much out of them.  We get our councilman that seems to have Dan pinned into a corner, only to fall victim to his own…vengeance? I’m not even sure WHAT his motivation is.  The closest I’ve been able to come to it is that he wants revenge against the Ash family for what happened with his brother, but even I’m not 100% sure on that.

Then, there’s the ending.  Sure, the councilman is dead, and the Bone Artists are going to go into hiding, but, that’s it? We don’t get a lot of making up between Dan and Jordan, but that’s just maybe how they are? However, there’s absolutely no growth between Dan and Abby.  I don’t think they are closer than they were when they started out in the book, but I don’t think they had grown apart either.

While I do think that there are some good things going on in this novel, like the main plot thread weaving in and out, the rest of this just fell flat for me.  It just didn’t feel like a closing novel to me.  Maybe it’s not.  Either way, I felt like I should have gotten something more. But don’t let me stop you from reading it.  If you liked the previous two books, then dive right on in to this one.

2 comments on “Reviewing the Pages: Catacomb

  1. RedHeadedBookLover says:

    Hi there! I never normally do this but I just had to tell you that I love this post of yours! I’ve had a look at your blog too and now I am obsessed with your posts! I have to follow you now to keep updated on what you post, keep up the great work!
    All best, Aimee

Leave a Reply

