First Impression: Resident Evil VII: Biohazard

Hello everyone, and welcome back to the blog! I know, I haven’t really been taking much of a breather, but it’s nice not to sit here and try to figure out content to schedule ahead of time.  Makes things so much nicer.

So, what are we doing here? Well, I’m here to talk about Resident Evil VII: Biohazard.  Now, I got this game a few days ago, and I’m just now getting into it.  Part of it is just finding some time to play it.  And play I have.  I’ve made it the first major section, and have gotten to a safe room in the second.  And I have to say, I’m pretty thrilled as to what has transpired so far.  Controls are easy to understand, even though I’m not sure whether or not certain sections need to press a certain button rapidly or hold it.  That I’m still learning on.

Mind you, I’m not very far in the game, but the game is already super gruesome.  And I’m not just talking about the action.  I’m also referring to the whole atmosphere of the game.  For those of you who have played the demo will recognize some of the beginning section, you’ll already know where to go, but that familiarity will quickly go away.  The grittiness of the demo-explorable section gets carried on throughout the rest of the beginning section, which is great that they keep the atmosphere…gritty.

There are a few times where I was startled, and that’s a good thing.  There were a couple of times where we get jumped, and even though I “know” that something is going to happen (“know” as in the atmosphere suggests something is going to happen), but that does not prepare me for whatever jumps me.  The game also gives you a couple of shocking moments, and those moments bring up questions that, as of this time, I cannot answer through my playthrough.

One thing that I have noticed is that there is very little combat involved so far.  I’ve only needed to actually attack a couple of times; most of the other action sequences were more defending myself or having to run.  Which excites me.  Yes, there was combat in the original Resident Evil game, but it was also more about exploration and puzzle solving.  So far, I haven’t found any puzzles yet, but it’s been more about survival than anything.

If you are a fan of the Resident Evil series, horror games in general, or just a fan of getting the pants and socks scared off of you, this is a game for you, whether to play or watch.

Until next time, I am the Baumeister, and I have been, obediently yours.

Leave a Reply

