Oddity: Reading Speed

Hello everyone, and welcome back to the blog! Ready for something a little more…unconventional? I’ve known that there’s a lot of fun topics out there to explore, and I’m ready to explore those topics in my own way.  Today’s topic: reading speed

Now, everyone reads at their own pace.  And that’s ok.  The public school system, however, doesn’t understand that (but, that’s another topic for a never day).  However, this also is true for those who read for leisure.  I’m not going to lie, I have different reading speeds.  It really depends on the book.  Those speeds are:

Turtle

Now, I’m not the slowest reader by any means.  I enjoy my books.  HOWEVER, there is one series that gets me to slow down my reading to A STANDSTILL.

That’s right.  High fantasy.  As Beth can attest to, it took me forever to read through A Game of Thrones.  And that’s even not reading for a while.  I’ve read through The Lord of the Rings and all of the published main series of A Series of Ice and Fire, and started The Wheel of Time series.  With intricate and well-developed worlds like these, I slow down to make sure I understand everything that I can within the world.

Normal Speed

Well, as best as I can describe as “normal”.  Mainly referring to books that I’m reading for the first time, or books that have a moderate reading difficulty.  Yes, that is a thing that I totally made up.  I dare you to fight me on that.

Anyway, most of my reads will fall into this category.  And yes, this includes the rare phenomenon of finishing the last 100+ pages of a read in one sitting (yes, I have found myself succumbing to this phenomenon on multiple occasions).

SANIC FAST!!!

This mainly refers to either super short reads (like novellas); re-reads; or books that are deemed “easy” (again, fight me on that whole difficulty thing).  Fact is, there are some books that I can just polish off in a mere few hours.  I’m not sure if I’ve told this story before (and if I have, I would say “stop me if you’ve heard this one”, but since you’re reading this and not listening to me live, you can’t! HAHA!), but there was one day in high school where I was sitting down in my room, and decided that I wanted to re-read The Stand: The Complete and Uncut Edition.  The version my mother had was over 1200 pages.  I finished it, from cover to cover, in a matter of a few hours.

So, yeah.  That’s my take on reading speeds.  What’s yours? Do you have just one gear that you get in to read? Or do you have different gears that are specific to different books? Until next time, I am the Baumeister, and I have been, obediently yours.

Leave a Reply

