Reviewing the Pages: Afflicted: Patient Zero

33859435

Hunger. Terror. Survival.
 
Once bitten, the infection consumes your body, and the mind is reduced to nothing more than impulses directing you to do one thing… feed.
 
Military veteran, Mike, is infected but hasn’t turned yet. His grip on reality and any control of his body is fading with every minute. The notion of never touching his beloved wife Becky again haunts his every thought.
 
Caught in a never-ending underground labyrinth Mike and his fellow captive’s race against time to find the cure and escape the horde of undead before it’s too late.
 
Patient Zero is an exhilarating sci-fi/ horror novel that will send chills down your spine and leave you begging for more.

Going in, I was intrigued by the premise of this book. However, the execution didn’t quite sit right with me. I don’t know if it’s Mike’s way at looking at things, or if it’s just from the way characters come and go in a blink of an eye. There are some spelling and grammatical errors that give the reader a quick pause, but doesn’t make the reader stop entirely. The plot does it best to keep you guessing, and the driving force of love and seeing the MC’s loved one again keeps a central theme driving through.

For those of you who like tales of the zombie apocalypse, this is for you. I might pick up the next read way on down the road.

spoiler_alert_300_w2

What is on going on here? Yes, I understand that we have an experiment going on here, but why is this experiment going on? Why isn’t Mike as afflicted with the…zombie plague as pretty much everyone else.  There are so many questions that I want answers to, but this book does not give them to me.  It’s difficult to really look back and say that I enjoyed this read when my mind is swimming with so many questions.

I wasn’t a fan of the constant shifting companions that Mike kept traveling around this underground facility with.  It felt like every time I started to get comfortable with the current running group, they would get slaughtered and Mike would have to either move on, or black out.  Which was something that baffled me for the first little bit.  Like, the first 30% or so.  I made the comment that I felt like this feels like a bit like “An Occurance at Owl Creek Bridge”, especially after he first blacked out and woke back up feeling better than he had.  Only about halfway through did it finally click that he is actually partially turning.

One of the major questions that I have is how are these mutations happening? We get all these descriptions of mutated heads, and spiked limbs, but how are these mutations forming? Is it physiological? Is it something that is coming out of the infection? Granted, there’s not a lot of explanation for the whole development and need of the infection in the first place, and I wish there were more to flesh out the story.

The spelling and grammar errors are few and far between, and “holly hell” was the only one that really stopped me in my tracks.  I don’t know why it did, but it bothered me.  The other big thing that bothered me was the main antagonist, and how he seemed to have the upper hand at every turn, up until he was turned into undead food.  I don’t know if it’s because of the whole “higher power” trope where they seem to have the upper hand until something other than the protagonist finishes them off or what, but it didn’t really work for me in this one.

If you do like tales about zombies, and a whole lot of bloody, gorey action, then you should definitely check this read out.  I might pick up the next read in this series down the line, but it isn’t a priority “to get” for me.

Leave a Reply

