Reviewing the Pages: Horror Girls

26859071

Get ready for a non-stop thrill-ride through the forgotten, lonely places of the world: Cemeteries, Swamps, Forests, and Haunted Houses… perhaps even your house! Meet the monsters who dwell within: Demons, Ghosts, Mutants, Psychos, and Vampires. All the hungry beasts who lurk just out of sight, waiting to devour and destroy.

You get 8 great stories, including an H.P. Lovecraft-inspired Cthulhu Mythos shocker, plus grisly poems like, “These Teeth Will Love You,” and “Black Gloves, Sharp Knife.”

If you love horror, you don’t dare miss these demented stories of Demons, Ghosts, Vampires and more…

Ok. Now, I’m a horror fan. I love me some scares. And this book…doesn’t quite scratch that itch. Well, I should say collection of short stories. Some of them are rather short, while others aren’t nearly as short. Now, while I don’t mind the use of teenagers as protagonist, I also felt like there needed to be something…different about some of the characters. All of them, save one, had a severe lack of depth to them. These girls have some sort of problem, whether it’s with a boy, or because their lives aren’t what they want them to be. I don’t know. Except for the last story, I wasn’t very thrilled with this as a whole. If you enjoy brief snippets of horror, then this read is for you.

Alright fans of the horror genre, this is a very tame foray into the spooky.  There’s just not enough here to grasp my insides and chill them with fear and dread.  The only two stories I liked were about the house doing the possessing, which is something that you don’t necessarily see all that often in stories.  The other was a tale that skirts the very outer edges of the Cthulhu Mythos, but I can actually see fitting in a little bit (since I’m only really familiar with some of Lovecraft’s major works, I’m not sure what sort of powers the other Older Gods have).

Other than that, I just wasn’t thrilled that the primary character type was teenage girl that had some sort of issue, and ended up getting taken with the supernatural to solve it.  Whether it took getting turned into a vampire, or getting possessed by the devil, they just didn’t work for me.   Yes, there isn’t much room for plot development for some of these characters, but they could be so much more motivation and drive for these characters if the author didn’t also focus on a very specific character typing.  One story in particular really bugged me because the “horror” aspect of it was a last second addition that seemed very hokey.

The other thing that bugged me about this is that some of these stories are a bit too short.  Just when I got into them, they ended.  But, don’t let my hatred of certain aspects of this collection deter you from reading it.  If you are a fan of horror, and want to have a quick read, then you should check out this collection.

Leave a Reply

