Something New: Reviewing the Trailer of “IT”

DID YOU WATCH IT!? DIDYOUWATCHITDIDYOUWATCHITDIDYOUWATCHITDIDYOUWATCHIT?!?!?!?!?!??!?!

Ahem.  Excuse me a second while I compose myself.

There.  That’s better.  Before you read on, you really probably should watch this.  There be details about the trailer below.

Alright.  So, I have this rather…long connection with IT.  It’s the first adult book that I’ve read out of, at the tender age of 2 and a half.  Yes.  I did say 2 and a half.  I’m the oldest child of three, and so I got almost three years of parenting to myself.  And my mother read everything to me.  I mean everything.  Children’s books, magazines, newspapers, recipes, the back of cereal boxes, whatever.  She read and read and read to me.  So, when I started to read on my own out loud, Mom used whatever she could to help me out.  And since we didn’t have a lot of children’s books in the house at the time, she used what she was reading, which was IT.  I only know this is because my mother told me about it when I was reading the book as a teenager.  Which I did…constantly.  Between my mother and I, we read the cover off of that copy.  I even used the TV miniseries for an assignment in high school (which meant a couple of nights up waaaaaaaay late watching both parts).  So, I have a bit of an attachment to this novel.

So, when I saw that they were going to remake the miniseries, I was a little cautious about it at first.  Because Tim Curry as Pennywise the Dancing Clown…

is amazing.  100% awesome at giving this entity life.  But, things started to pop up.  Production stills and teaser images of not just the kids, but the new look for Pennywise.  And let me tell you, Mr. Skarsgård looks downright evil.

And I love it.  My only hope was that they were going to be able to mix the clowning antics of what Pennywise is suppose to portray with the horror that is befalling Derry.  Well, with this trailer, we certainly have some indications that we do.

We had to get that iconic scene where Georgie is chasing his boat down the rain gutter, though him running right into that barricade is a bit of humor that doesn’t last very long.  We then get various scenes, such as the kids walking through the drainpipe, a balloon floating behind Ben, the kids going over old pictures of town that quickly gets out of their control, what I believe is Mike’s interaction with Pennywise at the burned-out mill, and the blood geyser out of Beverly’s drain.  But, what really gets me is at the very end, with Georgie going “you’ll float too” about four or five times, with it increasing in intensity until Pennywise comes running out of this pool of water.  That part did startle me a little bit. But that’s good.  The book is a lot darker than the miniseries was allowed to show, and I think that was partially due to the platform in which it aired on (ABC) than anything else.  Don’t get me wrong.  I love the miniseries, and I love the book.  And I already have some good expectations of this movie, and I hope it doesn’t let me down.

Thank you for letting me cover the trailer for you.  It’s not in-depth like a lot of trailer reviews are, but if you’ve read the book, you already know where it’s going.  So, until next time, I am the Baumeister, and I have been, obediently yours.

Leave a Reply

