Resident Evil VII: Biohazard: Diving Back into Horror

Hello everyone, and welcome back to another video game review.  Now, I haven’t done very many of these.  Well, technically this is my third one.  But, I don’t beat very many games.  Instead, I play through one and skip over to the next one.  And so on and so on, leaving a plethora of unfinished games in my wake.  One of these days, when I can start being a LPer/streamer, I’ll have to go back and finish a lot of those games.

But, in the meanwhile, we’ve got this game.  Since the first whispers about the game at E3 2015 with KITCHEN, and later updates a year later with the demo known as Beginning Hour, which to my knowledge is the first demo to get updated as time progressed.  And boy were there secrets in there.  But, enough about Beginning Hour.  Let’s get right into the game that I finally finished.

If you haven’t played this game before, and are wanting to experience this game for yourself, be warned because there be…

Ok.  So, since playing Layers of Fear, I’ve been really into the first-person exploratory style of games.  Both in terms of horror, and what people like to call walking simulators.  Either way.  I really love that style of game.  I love being able to go out and explore the world.  And yes, this game is a little bit linear.  But, up until a certain point, you can backtrack to retrieve things that you weren’t able to in the past.  Different items like the grenade launcher, more ammo, and secret in-game items that one would find along the way.  But that’s ok.  Yes.  I, a man who loves open world exploration, find that it is ok that we have a mostly linear game.  It works out well here.

Like some of the other Resident Evil games that I’ve played (which, isn’t a lot, considering I won’t touch 4-6), inventory management is vital to your survival in this game.  Towards the end, I was debating over which weaponry I wanted to take with me, so that I could have a chance of surviving the end game (more on that in a minute). Each weapon has their own advantages and disadvantages, and using the wrong one in a certain scenario could spell disasterous for Ethan.  I did find myself constantly switching between weapons, not only as a way to save ammo on the shotgun, but also to better use my environment to my advantage.  Taking on multiple Molded is a lot easier with the handgun rather than the shotgun.  But remote bombs would better if you could cluster them up.  And the Grenade Launcher would be just as good, but better not to run out of ammo for it.  Oh, can’t forget about health packs.  Should I fashion first aid kits with this chem fluid I’ve found, or should I go for some ammo.  In my case, I did go for health packs.  By the end boss, I had plenty of ammo to burn through.

But, let’s get right into why I’ve got the spoiler tag up above.  The ending.  After injecting Eveline with that serum that you created, she become mega-mold monster and attacks.  Then, Umbrella swoops in, drops down a very powerful weapon, and you defeat Eveline.  The kicker.  After Eveline crumbles, and Redfield address Ethan, Ethan says something along the lines of “about time you guys showed up.” Does Ethan work for Umbrella? Or did Ethan contact Umbrella before he left for the Bakers? There are so many questions that don’t have answers.  And like an impatient child, I want them.  And speaking of the final fight, since I’m here…it didn’t seem very involved.  You were locked up in the attic with Eveline to start, and all you could do is fire.  You couldn’t hide.  You couldn’t have any strategy.  You were just firing away.  And that kinda soured on me a bit.  After all, there were some loose plot ends that we had to work with.  Like Lucas. We don’t see Lucas again after surviving the Happy Birthday trap area, but we don’t hear from him again.  One would figure that he’d stick around to be a thorn in one’s side after killing off his parents.  But, is there something in store for Lucas? I don’t really know, and I’m interested to see where the developers are going to go from here.

Now, I’m still in the process of trying to get my DLC to work (at this time, I went to play “Banned Footage”, and the game kept crashing on me.  So, I decided I’d try to uninstall and re-install the game.  Maybe I’ll get some answers there.  For those of you who really like first-person survival horror games, and want to try a new foray into the Resident Evil series, then you should totally check this one out, and prepare to jump out of your seats.

Leave a Reply

