Reviewing the Pages: Four Days

27780412

Four days to locate the killer. Four days to take revenge. Four days to find redemption.

Jim Harris is a hard-drinking detective on his way to a nervous breakdown. Every day, he works alongside corrupt cops and dangerous crooks. That is, until a brutal murder case unravels his career, bringing past indiscretions to light. Alone, afraid, and out of control, Harris makes a pact with himself: finish it.

I went into this read thinking that I’m going to enjoy it…but in the end, I was so lost for two-thirds of this book that I couldn’t completely enjoy the read. The plot that was described in this novel takes place in the last section, and could have been stretched out a little bit longer, rather than getting page upon page of backstory. Sure, I’m all for getting backstory at some point, but I would have preferred to have it intermixed with the main plot. Other than that, it was a good read. I enjoy detective novels, and this one, with a protagonist with absolutely nothing to lose, is rather intriguing. Don’t let my review sway you away from this read, dive deep into the mystery. Can you solve the case and keep your head?

The one thing that got me in this read, is the title of one of the chapters.  It goes: “Friday, October 12 to Friday, February 2, 1985”.  That wouldn’t be so bad, if it wasn’t placed after chapters that were also dated 1985.  Now, I could be completely wrong and it’s supposed to be like that, but my brain got stuck on that, and I think that’s part of the ruined enjoyment for me.  That, or the amount of questions that I had early on that I wasn’t getting sufficient answers to.  As we dove deeper into the corruption (and for a small little bit, became a part of it), I kept wondering when the title was going to play into it.  And I finally got my answer, like 2/3rds of the way through.  Now, don’t get me wrong, I love the idea of the premise, but I do really think that it should have been spread out throughout the book.  Start out with the doctor’s visit and the wait time, then dive into some back story and character development.

Now, getting those gripes out of the way.  I did enjoy what we got here.  I did enjoy all of the backstory (as confusing as it was).  It’s dark, gritty, and doesn’t hesitate to throw the other side of the law at you.  The side that most people think happens all the time in their own neck of the woods.  And sometimes, they are right.  Well, I don’t know that for a fact.  After all, I’m just a reader from a small town in the least-populated state in the US (we have more problems with our current mayor than the police department.  All of my town’s officers are good men).  The unfamiliar (to this reader) setting is something different, and I rather enjoyed the experience of finding things out as Harris did.  There are still a lot of questions left unanswered (such as the VERY last line…is he just talking out loud, or is the person he’s with someone he actually knows).

I do recommend this book, and I hope that you can look past all of my criticisms.  Dive deep into the corruption; can you find a safe way out and solve the mystery?

Leave a Reply

